Current News
Red Wings News
Event Schedule
News Archives
Modano Inducted into Texas Sports Hall of Fame

Mike Modano has clearly cemented himself as one of the all-time greatest athletes in Dallas sports history. Now he can officially include the state of Texas in that footprint, as Modano was named on Wednesday as part of the 2008 class of inductees into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

The Texas Sports Hall of Fame Induction Committee is chaired by legendary sports writer Dave Campbell and is comprised of media members around the state. Modano is the first hockey player to be inducted.
“It’s an honor to be named to the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, let alone be the first hockey player inducted,” said Modano. “I consider Texas home and it’s very special to be recognized for what I’ve been a part of with the Stars since coming to Dallas in 1993. We’ve helped grow the sport of hockey in Dallas-Ft. Worth, especially with kids, and that has always been important to me. I’d like to thank the committee for this great honor of being inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.”
Modano is entering his 18th season with the Stars. He is the club’s all-time leader in games played (1,238), goals (507), assists (719), points (1,226), power play goals (144), and shorthanded goals (28). Modano is six points away from tying Phil Housley as the all-time leader in points among American-born players in the NHL (1,232 points). Modano passed Joe Mullen ‘s American goal-leading mark last March with his 503rd career goal.
“The American records are definitely something I am very proud of,” said Modano. “Playing for your country at the Olympics has always been one of the greatest highlights of my career. It’s very special that I’ve played my entire career with the Stars. Dallas fans have been very good to me and I love living here.”

Modano joins seven others as inductees in the 2008 class of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame – Granbury girls basketball coach Leta Andrews, former Texas A&M and Houston Oiler DT Ray Childress, former Texas Tech football coach Spike Dykes, former North Texas State & Dallas Texans RB Abner Haynes, former Dallas Cowboys WR Michael Irvin, San Antonio Spurs Coach Gregg Popovich, and former Baylor and Cleveland Browns OL Jim Ray Smith. The induction banquet will be held in Waco, Texas, typically in February. The exact date, times and ticket information are pending. For more information, check out the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s website: .

Event Schedule
There are currently no events scheduled... please stay tuned!